Skip to content

Pedestal

June 9, 2011

Spent a bit of time with an oooooooold friend yesterday.  I was reminded a few days ago, it’s easy to change people in our memories, like convince ourselves that they are some sort of ideal.  To put someone on a pedestal, it was called.  Not that my friend isn’t great, but seeing her after so long, we are now both totally different people, and I can’t believe I didn’t expect it.  Maybe I watch too many Hallmark Channel movies.  Live and learn I guess.

So, most Christian music sucks.  It’s true.  I probably say that so much it’s annoying.  With that in mind, I will slowly compile a list of Christian music that doesn’t suck.  Let me give you the idea of the criteria I am gonna use.  Of course it needs to sound good, but also it needs to not be phony.  For example:

Let’s compare a few songs.

“Feel it in your Heart”  -Abandon

Oh, You can turn it up loud
As loud as it will go
But it will never make it’s way to Your soul
No, No until You
Feel it in Your heart

So, yeah.  Perhaps I’m way off base here, but when I hear a thing like ‘feel it in your heart’ it’s like an admonishment that I’m not capable of producing an emotion at will; that is, faking it.  Sometimes people don’t ‘feel it’, even in human relationships, that doesn’t mean it’s not there.  How you feel depends on your mood; love is supposed to be constant, eternal.  And maybe they didn’t even mean for the lyrics to sound like that, but they really do.

Compare that with this:

“The Redeemer” – Sanctus Real

And I’m still a dreamer, a believer
Oh, I’ve lost my faith in so many things, but I still believe in You
‘Cause You are the answer, the redeemer
Oh, I’ve given up on too many things, but I’m not giving up on You
‘Cause You can make anything new

Ironically, I ‘feel’ a lot more when I hear a lyric like this, I think everyone does.   A friend of mine likes to always repeat this quote, “be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.”  These lyrics sound like something a human, who is fighting a hard battle, might say to God.  Or, more to the point, it sounds like the kind of thing I like to say to God.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

