Skip to content

Awake

September 15, 2011

Ok, I lied.  Work is strangely slow and it’s eerily quiet here, and writing on this thing can sometimes chase the blues away.

I read something funny/interesting yesterday.  Someone was observing that there are two types of people: the ones with real problems, and the ones without real problems.  These two groups of people can’t really interact with each other, except in the most meaningless, superficial way.

I guess on some level that’s true.  The things we overcome are so important to what kind of person we are.  If at some point I get all the things I want and all the difficulty of life goes away, including acquiring more money than I will ever need, will I suddenly become an intolerable jerk?  I see it happen aaaaallllll the time, and it would be naive to assume that I’m immune.

That’s a common criticism of Christians too–that they never have to deal with real problems.  I guess it’s more noticeable in us, and in Christian music it comes off as glib and snobby.

And forgive me if I’m wrong about this, but that’s to be expected whenever music is an industry.  People that make it to the radio and stay there, they so rarely write to express something or cope with something, they just write for broad appeal so they will make money.

That goes for Christian music too.  God says, sing a new song, sing when you’re sad, sing when you’re happy, sing when all you feel like doing is curling up into a ball and waiting for a miracle.

But instead we have career musicians with a rhyming thesaurus (if they write their own songs at all) trying to guess what the greatest number of people will like.  So they can make money.  Screw money.  Screw the love of money.

So when you hear a song, you’re always wondering, “does this person actually mean any of this?”  And most of the time it sounds so grandiose and cheesy, and I can’t help but think, this person is nothing like me.  Even if they are being sincere, I don’t know if what they are talking about even applies to me.

The psalms aren’t like that though.  They’re pretty amazing.  The people that wrote them are bold enough to say things to God like, “Awake, O Lord! Why do you sleep? Rouse yourself! Do not reject us forever.”

And it distresses me that that’s something you might miss listening to Christian radio.  That messes people up!  If you hear about this God who loves you, and you feel like you’ve tried to reach him and he’s ignoring you, it makes you want to give up on the whole thing.

When really the message of the bible is, sometimes you get to know what God is thinking, and sometimes you don’t, but if you have to be persistent, then you have to.  Somebody once told me, God’s not a beggar, he’s a king.  And if we want to know him it’s worth whatever we have to go through.

And it is worth it.  Especially in interesting times like this.

One of my favorite verses:

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD.

“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

And even if I fail to learn that a million times, it’s still a wonderful truth.

This was rambling, but it felt good.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

