Skip to content

Striving

November 19, 2011

Work is getting to me.  Not the actual work, and not really the lack of it, but just the time investment required lately.  I haven’t gotten to do much of anything fun, cause I’m either working or tired from work.  Got home from work at 7 or so, my roommate and I got dinner, then I came home, watched TV and slept.  We did stop and get an s-video cable so we can watch his vast collection of movies on the TV.  Just in time for the winter movie-watching season.

Work itself is pretty slow.  Has been all week really.  It’s good that I’ve had a chance to write a little more.  Right now I am just sitting here doing puzzles and listening to music to drown out the angry, angry woman in the other bay.

 

This morning I was reading about David again.  This time it was later in his life, he was finally at peace and prosperous, and was lamenting the fact that there was no place in Jerusalem for God to dwell, no temple.  These days we just think, he’s God, he’s everywhere, what would be the point of raising a building for him?  But to David the presence of God was important.  God had always had a place with his people, even when they wandered in the desert–they had a tent for him.  Seriously.  So David looks around and says, why am I in a palace, while God is in a tent?  So he took it upon himself to have a temple built for God.

Then God has his say in the matter, and…well…I can’t say it as well as he does, so:

“I declare to you that the LORD will build a house for you: When your days are over and you go to be with your ancestors, I will raise up your offspring to succeed you, one of your own sons, and I will establish his kingdom. He is the one who will build a house for me, and I will establish his throne forever. I will be his father, and he will be my son.”

It would be so great to hear a preacher talk about this, especially my preacher.  God’s plans are always so complete.  And in this instance we really get to see them clearly.  David plans to build a temple for God, while God has already planned all that and more.  And it includes amazing things for David, for his people, and ultimately for the rest of the world.

One thing you can say about David for sure, is that he was great because God made him great.  But times like this show that he also had the kind of heart that God wants us to have.  When God promises him a wonderful thing, see what he does: he rejoices, he celebrates!  His heart swells and he says:

“Now you have been pleased to bless the house of your servant, that it may continue forever in your sight; for you, LORD, have blessed it, and it will be blessed forever.”

Not a hint of doubt or worry, he acts as if the promise had already been fulfilled.  I want to be more like that!

The bible says, “delight yourself in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.”  This is a great example of that.  In the heart of a good king, there’s always great concern for his people and his family line.  David loves God, and building him a temple is definitely a great idea.  God’s plan, though, is to not only build the temple, but in also put David’s mind at ease, and to make his heart sing.

It’s like God is telling us, telling me, anyone who reads those words, that he already has good things in mind for us.  And when it comes to the things we hope for, how hard we try isn’t nearly as important as how much we trust him.  I’ve really been striving and trying to interfere lately, instead of just enjoying the good things I have.  Trying to control everything, instead of going with the flow.  Heh, it hasn’t worked well.  But it’s never too late to just let go.

 

Basketball time.  This game is a beatdown, and it’s only halftime.  Ouch!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

