Skip to content

For Christ’s Sake

December 8, 2011

This time of year I’m always torn.  On the one hand there’s the dreariness of winter and the loneliness of missing family, and on the other hand there’s the magic of the Christmas season.  I want to celebrate and be happy but it just doesn’t feel like it did when I was a kid.  Only for a few days right before Christmas if I’m not busy, can I just sit around with friends in the glow of the Christmas tree and remember how great it is let this divine peace wash over us.  Seems like the older I get the more things try to rob me of that feeling.

But I guess it’s up to us to cultivate that feeling, in ourselves and others.  And it’s amazing how we do this almost naturally, no explanation needed.  Give so people won’t go hungry on Christmas, because no one deserves to go hungry on Christmas.  Give so kids will have a present to open on Christmas, because every kid deserves a happy Christmas.  We all just know it naturally.  I think that sort of conquers all the difficulty of this season.

I like this verse:

“‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” -2 Corinthians 12:9

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

