Skip to content

Sift

December 13, 2011

I am so excited!  Got a Christmas present early and my new swimming regimen starts Wednesday.  It is going to be so awesome to be back in the water!  There is just not enough time for everything though.  I’d really like to keep a 5-day schedule for this stuff, which means I’ll probably swim Tuesday and Friday after work, cause getting up even earlier to swim just doesn’t seem possible.  I am somewhat of a morning person, but I don’t consider 5:30 to be the morning, that’s still the previous night, heh.

Speaking of which, this lack of sunshine is getting old.  I arrive at work a little before 7 and leave at 6 or so, which means that four days a week I’m sitting at this desk the entire time the sun is shining.  That’s crazy!  It never bothered me before when I was in school or had a job where I was always out and about, but this is rough.

 

Christmas falls on a Sunday this year which means no church service on that day.  Instead we’ve been challenged to go out and do something nice for someone, go find someone in need.  Very open-ended, but we do pretty well with that.  There’s always stories to tell the following week.

I like this verse:

“So I commend the enjoyment of life, because nothing is better for a man under the sun than to eat and drink and be glad. Then joy will accompany him in his work all the days of the life God has given him under the sun.”

So practical, ya know.  And it’s something I’m dealing with.  I just don’t take pleasure in all the usual things right now.  It’s strange to think I might actually have to work at that.  They say depression runs in my family but honestly I’ve never really bought into the idea that everything can be reduced to a chemical reaction.  I know depression is very real but if that’s what it is then maybe I just hope it can be overcome without treatment or anything like that.  Also I think it is way over-diagnosed.

And I can point to some things that are tough right now.  Work, for example, is such a huge part of life and it’s tough to enjoy life when we don’t enjoy work.  And I can see myself somewhere that fits me a lot better.  And even then, the whole process of leaving here and going somewhere else is gonna be difficult.  The end result will be good, and I’m happy to do it, but still.

Christmas shopping is sorta done-ish.  I always always always wait till the last minute, but this year I’m sorta hoping to get it all over and done with so the time leading up to Christmas will actually be good and relaxing.

I wanna go home.  Actually I wanna go swim.  So giddy right now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

