Skip to content

Greatest

January 17, 2012

“If Ali says a mosquito can pull a plow, don’t ask how. Hitch him up.”

-Muhammad Ali, 70 years old today.

Ali is so freaking cool.  He’s what every man ought to aspire to be.  A supremely cocky young man who thought he could do anything, an idealistic adult who refused to compromise, and an old man full of wisdom and love.

And he’s yet another reason to like Louisville.

 

They were supposed to give us the timetable today for when this place is shutting down and our jobs will end.  They’ve probably known the precise dates for a while.  It didn’t take me long to feel at home here, so I’m sure it won’t take long wherever I go next either.  They say every person who wants a career in computing or IT should do a stint at the helpdesk.  I’ve put in my time here and as a site technician and I hope it’s not too much hubris to say, I’m ready for something else.

 

My roommate is taking an awesome class this semester, I’m so jealous.  It has a strange name but essentially it’s topics on modular arithmetic, which is a fun type of math relating to computer science.  I reminded me how I always enjoyed the theory behind computing more than the dreary specifics themselves, so I wonder if it was the science or math all along, rather than the practical problem solving, that I should have been into.

It’s the same playing my MMO too.  I realized I enjoy leveling a character and figuring out the design intent and the theory behind the stats and attacks and synergy rather than simply having an epic character with the best gear and knowing everything about it.  I recently made a new character, one that I already have, and leveling him again, knowing what I know now, has been tons of fun.

Reaching the same level of understanding with Old Republic seems like a daunting task.  There’s so many classes, stats I haven’t even encountered yet, professions I haven’t touched, I’m only partway through one story out of eight.  I get online and it’s like, so daunting to do by myself.  And my guild is expecting me to raid with them soon, which sucks cause this game coming out is a big deal to me and I want to experience it at my own pace.  I don’t want to rush through a good story in a cool universe.

They’ve even got a content patch on the way.  What!  Who on earth finished this game already, in any meaningful sense?  I messed myself with delight just from hitting 36 and getting Doc, the wiseass medic companion.  Guardian + pocket healer = soloing elites.  And elites are srs bsns in this game.  Actually there’s different designations, NPCs are classified as Strong, Elite, Champion, Boss, and Strong Boss.  A perfectly geared and played Guardian with the right companion NPC might be able to kill a single Champion by himself, but beyond that it’s pretty much impossible.

That’s another reason I like Old Republic.  Even getting to this level with the class that I play required a good deal of effort and a few periods of repeated wipes.  There was one boss (there are solo instanced dungeons and bosses) that I actually had to go back and get better gear to kill, and this is while I’m just out questing, doing my thing.  And a guilty pleasure of any good RPG is going back and showing off to all the lowbies and murdering the stuff that used to give you trouble.  This is sort of built into the story so you don’t feel like a jerk for doing it.  You sometimes have to go back to the council to report something or get new orders, and the council is located on a planet with level 1-10 people.  So you step off the shuttle in your nonchalant hooded robe and plain looking hilt, and turn heads, just by virtue of where you’ve been and what you’ve done.  Which, when you get right down to it, is all an MMO is about anyways.

 

I’m torn between the things I want to do and the things I have to do.  Moreso than usual.  I can see studying easily eating up all my free time for a month.  In the grand scheme of things that’s not much, especially considering how much time I spend on things that are purely for entertainment.

Not that I would change anything.  Cause if not for distractions I really would go crazy sometimes.

 

I had a bunch more to write but got lost in reading about Muhammad Ali.

One thing is sure, tomorrow’s Wikipedia blackout is gonna suck.  It’s for a good cause though.  The White House released a statement basically saying they no longer support SOPA in its current form, so all these ignorant congressmen are backing away from it.  It’s beautiful.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

