Skip to content

Fleeting

February 21, 2012

My cousin died yesterday.  I only met him in person once but he was so friendly, overwhelmingly friendly.  He was in a car wreck a few weeks ago and after a long battle they determined there was no more brain activity.  Sucks to think about it.  I kept up with him on facebook.  He had a big heart and some tough times, but had recently gotten a more satisfying job and was very much in love with someone.  Why people like him have to die, I guess I’ll never know.

We all have to confront the truth of not living forever in these bodies.  It’s uncomfortable, but it’s just a fact of life.  I sometimes say in this blog, the truth always ends up being better than we expect it to be.  I think that’s true in this case.  People, especially Christians, add to their grief the worry about ‘what happened to this person, are they in heaven?’ which I guess I just don’t worry about anymore.  God made us and put us where we are.  He keeps us alive from the day we’re born to the day we die.  And he paid such a high price to save us and protect us.  If he went to those lengths for us, why would he then look for reasons to exclude us?

 

I don’t think it’s a sign of weakness to rely on God, to ask him to save us.  It’s just an acknowledgement of our situation.  It’s a kind of total honesty.  We don’t know what happens when we die.  All we can do is believe.  I believe that the God who made Rick, is also with him right now.  This is the essence of Christianity.  God sent his son to give his life for Rick, and for me too, and for you.  So all we have to do is ask him to save us.  So with him, because of his might and his love, and his great name, there are no more sad endings.  There is pain and difficulty and longing, but also triumph, inevitable triumph.

 

So Rick is gone from us.  Or rather, we’re gone from him.  For a while.  I hope his mother and his girlfriend and all the people he knew can cope with this.  In the end I guess there’s no words for when someone is gone.

 

I have seen the burden God has laid on the human race. He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.   know that there is nothing better for people than to be happy and to do good while they live. That each of them may eat and drink, and find satisfaction in all their toil—this is the gift of God. I know that everything God does will endure forever; nothing can be added to it and nothing taken from it. God does it so that people will fear him.

Ecclesiastes 3:9-14

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

