Skip to content

Kerfuffle

April 12, 2012

http://www.pennlive.com/midstate/index.ssf/2011/02/mom_blames_luzerne_county_judg.html

In the video above, the judge can barely look at that lady.  He sent kids and teenagers to jail for minor offenses (in some cases very minor, like talking bad about a school principal on Myspace) in exchange for kickbacks from for-profit prison owners.  His justification is just…crazy.

Times like this I remember an old saying, “It belongs to human nature to hate those you have injured.”

That has always helped me understand the way people act, and the things I see on the news.  And I don’t know that it’s always hate as much as callousness, indifference.  It explains so much.  Like, a brutal dictator is still a human.  He copes with his own cruelty by hating those he rules, so he becomes more cruel, more detached.  The rich convince themselves that if people are poor it’s their own fault, and that the accumulation of wealth is somehow an end in itself, so they keep hoarding more and more money.

And the judge convinces himself that he would have handed down unbelievably tough sentences anyways, whether he got bribed or not.

 

On a completely unrelated topic, I hate the word gobsmacked.  It’s tooooooo British.  It’s like, I don’t care that you’re British, just don’t be all up in my face with it, you know?  I mean, I’m American but I don’t have my own secret vocabulary.  I think.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

